Mineral L-Cal
by Umeken · unknown · 14.1 oz.
- On the market (NIH)
- UPC 1023CAL Large
- DSLD label 12947
- Serving 20 pieces
- 200 servings
Mineral L-Cal by Umeken lists 4 ingredients, 4 with an amount per serving of 20 pieces, such as 400 IU (10 mcg) of vitamin D3, 260 mg of calcium, 12 mg of magnesium and 1,876 mg of fermented lactic acid calcium, beside 1 Nutrition Facts row (calories, fat and the like). Its current label entered the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database on October 1, 2012.
What is in Mineral L-Cal?
Each row as the label prints it, per serving of 20 pieces. The capsule beside an amount places it among every product in the NIH database that lists the same ingredient: the bar is the middle half of their amounts, the line in it the median, the whiskers the 10th and 90th percentiles; the green tick is the FDA Daily Value and the red dashed tick the adult upper limit (IOM).
| Ingredient | Amount | % DV | Among products listing it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Carbohydrates | less than 1 g | 1% | |
| Vitamin D3 | 400 IU (10 mcg) | 100% | 57% of 14,175 products listing vitamin D give more (median 15 mcg). |
| Calciumas Calcium L-LactateCalcium (Form: as Calcium L-Lactate) | 260 mg | 26% | Higher than 75% of 17,831 products listing calcium (median 115 mg). |
| Magnesiumas Salt Water BrineMagnesium (Form: from Salt Water Brine) | 12 mg | 3% | 90% of 14,003 products listing magnesium give more (median 86 mg). |
| Fermented Lactic Acid Calciumfermented | 1,876 mg | Not reported | |
| Multi-Mineralsas Salt Water BrineMulti-Minerals (Form: from Salt Water Brine) | 120 mg | Not reported |
Not reported: no percentage is available for that row. A missing DSLD percentage does not establish whether an FDA reference value exists.
Source: NIH ODS Dietary Supplement Label Database, label 12947 (entered October 1, 2012), version 9.4.0. See the label on DSLD. Amounts are what the maker printed; DSLD does not test products. Daily Values: the FDA's Daily Value page.
Is that a lot?
The rows in the top or bottom tenth of the products that list the same ingredient, and any above the adult upper limit at the most servings a day the directions give:
- 90% of the 14,003 products that print an amount of magnesium list more than its 12 mg of magnesium (median 86 mg).
The NIH database records one serving a day from the label's directions; its % Daily Values are for adults and children 4 or more years of age. The directions as printed are further down this page.
The Tolerable Upper Intake Level is the most of a nutrient per day, from food, water and supplements together, that is likely to pose no risk for almost all adults (Institute of Medicine, 2011). It does not apply under medical supervision. This page compares labels; it is not medical advice.
Sources: amounts from the DSLD label; Daily Values from 21 CFR 101.9(c)(8)(iv); adult upper limits from the Institute of Medicine's DRI summary tables (2011). How positions are computed.
Which products have the closest formulas?
6 products list the very same ingredients; the nearest amounts come first.
- Calcium PLUS 500 Cherry TartCelebrate same ingredients
- Calcium PLUS 500 Mixed FruitCelebrate same ingredients
- Calcium & Magnesium 300 mgSource Naturals same ingredients
- Calcium & MagnesiumSource Naturals same ingredients
- Calcium Mag & D ComplexNature's Way same ingredients
- Calcium Magnesium LiquidKirkman same ingredients
Source: ingredient lists of every product's current label in DSLD (version 9.4.0); similarity weights each shared ingredient by how rare it is.
What does the label say about taking it?
Quoted from the label as DSLD transcribed it: the maker's words, including any claim about what the product does, which the FDA has not evaluated and PlainVitamins does not endorse.
- Directions
- DIRECTIONS FOR USE: As a dietary supplement, take 20 pieces once a day.
Source: label statements in DSLD label 12947.
What else is on the label?
Seals and symbols as the label prints them (the maker's; a certifier's own list confirms a seal): USDA ORGANIC; JHFA (Japanese characters); JAS (Japanese characters). Listed with: USDA Organic seal (a seal is the label's claim; the certifier's own list confirms it).
How many labels does Mineral L-Cal have?
One label is on file, entered on October 1, 2012.
- Label 12947 (current) Entered October 1, 2012 · on the market · 14.1 oz. · UPC 1023CAL Large
Source: DSLD label entry and market events, version 9.4.0 (labels entered through September 25, 2025).
Who makes it?
The label names Umeken USA, Inc. (manufacturer). All Umeken products.