Skip to main content

21st Century · Botanical supplement

Milk Thistle Extract

7 ingredients on file in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, top 58% by ingredient count. Currently on-market in the U.S.

7
Ingredients
Top 58%
By ingredient count
5
Nutrient categories

The verdict

Milk Thistle Extract pairs a simpler-than-average formula with no disclosed Daily Value data.

42nd pctile
ingredient complexity, US
0%
ingredients DV-disclosed
+1
vs botanical avg (6)

Where Milk Thistle Extract sits nationally

Ingredient count across every DSLD-listed product

7 59164th of 113538 higher than 47,719 of 113,538 DSLD-listed products

every DSLD-listed product (30+ ingredients folded into one band), bucketed by value

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more DSLD-listed products. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) · 2026-09-04

Subscribe to updates

According to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements' September 2026 Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) release, Milk Thistle Extract is a botanical supplement by 21st Century in capsule form, listing 7 ingredients. Currently listed as on-market. Daily Value percentages shown below are based on FDA reference daily intake amounts for adults.

Product Details

Form
Capsule
Database Entry Date
2025-07-24
Ingredients
7

Supplement Facts (7 Ingredients)

Total Carbohydrates
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Dietary Fiber
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Milk Thistle Seed Extract Concentrate, Powder
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Cellulose
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Starch
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Magnesium Stearate
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Silicon Dioxide
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported

How does Milk Thistle Extract compare?

Ingredients listed on each label, against the botanical category average of 5.9. Data from the NIH DSLD.

Milk Thistle Extract7
10 in 1 Mushroom Essentials Raspberry Flavor25
Botanical average5.9

Milk Thistle Extract lists 18 ingredients fewer than 10 in 1 Mushroom Essentials Raspberry Flavor. That is 1 above the botanical average.

What the Label Data Shows

Milk Thistle Extract is cataloged in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) as a botanical supplement built from 7 ingredients from 21st Century, sold in capsule form. These ingredients span 5 nutrient categories, fiber, mineral, sugar, botanical, and 1 more, reflecting a multi-component formula rather than a single-nutrient product.

Across a broader 7-ingredient formula, 7 of 7 lack a percentage Daily Value in the available source record, leaving their regulatory reference status unspecified on this page.

Availability status shapes how this label record is best used. This product is currently listed as on-market in the DSLD, with its label first entered into the database on 2025-07-24. On-market products are currently being distributed in the United States, though the DSLD does not verify the accuracy of label claims or evaluate safety or efficacy.

About the DSLD database

The DSLD is a label database, not an FDA approval list, under the 1994 DSHEA framework, dietary supplements do not require pre-market approval, and label information reflects what manufacturers self-declare rather than independent laboratory verification. This page presents factual label data for reference only and is not medical advice; consult a licensed healthcare provider before making decisions about any supplement.

Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) Supplement label data for Milk Thistle Extract: ingredients, % Daily Value, market status, brand · 2026 DSLD captures manufacturer-self-declared label information; the NIH does not verify accuracy or evaluate safety/efficacy. Dietary supplements are regulated under DSHEA 1994, no pre-market FDA approval is required.

Ingredient Breakdown by Category

fiber
2
Dietary Fiber, Cellulose
mineral
2
Magnesium Stearate, Silicon Dioxide
sugar
1
Total Carbohydrates
botanical
1
Milk Thistle Seed Extract Concentrate, Powder
complex carbohydrate
1
Starch

Daily Value Coverage

0
Above 100% DV
0
Below 100% DV
7
%DV not reported in source

Frequently Asked Questions

What ingredients are in Milk Thistle Extract?
Milk Thistle Extract contains 7 ingredients. By declared ingredient count it sits in the top 58% of DSLD products PlainVitamins places. Ingredients span 5 categories: fiber, mineral, sugar, botanical, complex carbohydrate.
Who manufactures Milk Thistle Extract?
Milk Thistle Extract is currently manufactured by 21st Century. It is classified as a Botanical supplement in capsule form.
Is Milk Thistle Extract still available for purchase?
Yes, Milk Thistle Extract is currently listed as on-market in the NIH DSLD database.
What type of supplement is Milk Thistle Extract?
Milk Thistle Extract is classified as a "Botanical" supplement in the NIH database. This category includes products primarily composed of botanical ingredients. Across the full DSLD catalog, products fall into 9 possible categories: Vitamin, Mineral, Botanical, Amino Acid & Protein, Non-Nutrient, Fat & Fatty Acid, Multi-Vitamin & Mineral, Botanical with Nutrients, and Other Combinations.
Data Sources & Methodology

Data as of 2025. Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD).

Supplement label data sourced from the Source: NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), maintained by the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National Institutes of Health. The DSLD contains label information from dietary supplement products marketed in the United States.

Daily Value (DV) percentages are based on Source: FDA 21 CFR 101.9 Reference Daily Intake (RDI) values for adults. Products marked "Off Market" may no longer be available for purchase but their label data remains in the database for reference.

Disclaimer, Not Medical Advice

Label data from the Source: NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD). This information is for educational and reference purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before starting, stopping, or combining any dietary supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, take prescription medication, or have a medical condition.

Every figure on PlainVitamins is rendered directly from the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), no number is typed in by an editor. This page draws directly on the NIH DSLD, no figure is typed in by an editor. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error.