Comparison

Flax Oil and Flax Seed Oil

Flax Oil (OmegaWorks) lists 6 distinct ingredients and Flax Seed Oil (Bronson Laboratories) 5 (rows of one ingredient counted once); 5 are on both labels. On the site's similarity measure, which compares ingredient lists (1 for the same list, rarer ingredients counting for more; amounts are not part of it), the two formulas score 0.88.

Amount per serving (and % of the Daily Value)
IngredientFlax OilFlax Seed Oil
Fat (unspecified)13 g1 g
Saturated fat1 g0.5 g
Linoleic Acid2,300 mgnot disclosed
Oleic Acid2,700 mgnot disclosed
Alpha-Linolenic Acid5,800 mgnot disclosed
Cholesterol0 mg

Amounts are per serving as DSLD gives them: Flax Oil, 1 tbsp; Flax Seed Oil, 1 softgel. Current labels entered June 2012 and June 2012. Percentages of the Daily Value from 21 CFR 101.9. Source: NIH ODS Dietary Supplement Label Database.

Each product on its own

  • Flax OilOmegaWorks: every row against all products listing it
  • Flax Seed OilBronson Laboratories: every row against all products listing it