Skip to main content

Life Extension · Other Combinations supplement

MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron

20 ingredients on file in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, top 16% by ingredient count. Currently on-market in the U.S.

20
Ingredients
Top 16%
By ingredient count
8
Nutrient categories

MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron is a other combinations supplement by Life Extension in softgel capsule form, listing 20 ingredients in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), maintained by the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National Institutes of Health. Currently listed as on-market. Daily Value percentages shown below are based on FDA reference daily intake amounts for adults.

Product Details

Form
Softgel Capsule
Database Entry Date
2025-05-21
Ingredients
20

Supplement Facts (20 Ingredients)

MacuGuard Proprietary Blend
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Phospholipids
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Marigold Flower Extract
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Lutein
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Meso-Zeaxanthin
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Trans-Zeaxanthin
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Mixed Carotenoids
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Alpha-Carotene
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Saffron Stigma Extract
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Cyanidin-3-Glucoside
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Gelatin
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Glycerin
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Safflower Oil
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Beeswax
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Palm Oil
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Water, Purified
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Acacia Gum
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Maltodextrin
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported
Annatto
Amount
Not disclosed on label
% DV
Not reported

How does MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron compare?

Ingredients listed on each label, against the other combinations category average of 21.8. Data from the NIH DSLD.

MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron20
1,000 mg Vitamin C Acai Berry34
Other Combinations average21.8

MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron lists 14 ingredients fewer than 1,000 mg Vitamin C Acai Berry. That is 2 below the other combinations average.

What the Label Data Shows

According to NIH DSLD label rows, MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron sits in the top 16% of products with a countable formula by declared ingredient count.

With 20 ingredients on the label, MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron is one of the more extensive other combinations supplement formulas from Life Extension in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), sold in softgel capsule form. These ingredients span 8 nutrient categories, non-nutrient/non-botanical, botanical, fat, blend, and 4 more, reflecting a multi-component formula rather than a single-nutrient product.

Across a broader 20-ingredient formula, 20 of 20 lack a percentage Daily Value in the available source record, leaving their regulatory reference status unspecified on this page.

Market status matters for supplement research. This product is currently listed as on-market in the DSLD, with its label first entered into the database on 2025-05-21. On-market products are currently being distributed in the United States, though the DSLD does not verify the accuracy of label claims or evaluate safety or efficacy.

About the DSLD database

The DSLD is a label database, not an FDA approval list, under the 1994 DSHEA framework, dietary supplements do not require pre-market approval, and label information reflects what manufacturers self-declare rather than independent laboratory verification. This page presents factual label data for reference only and is not medical advice; consult a licensed healthcare provider before making decisions about any supplement.

Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) Supplement label data for MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron: ingredients, % Daily Value, market status, brand · 2026 DSLD captures manufacturer-self-declared label information; the NIH does not verify accuracy or evaluate safety/efficacy. Dietary supplements are regulated under DSHEA 1994, no pre-market FDA approval is required.

Nationwide supplements with similar label profiles

Two DSLD-derived peer sets for MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron, both outside the Life Extension brand so the neighborhoods are not catalog containment (the same-type Nearby block above stays type-local).

Ingredient Breakdown by Category

non-nutrient/non-botanical
6
Lutein, Meso-Zeaxanthin, Trans-Zeaxanthin, +3 more
botanical
4
Marigold Flower Extract, Saffron Stigma Extract, Acacia Gum, +1 more
fat
3
Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Safflower Oil, Palm Oil
blend
2
MacuGuard Proprietary Blend, Phospholipids
other
2
Glycerin, Water, Purified
protein
1
Gelatin
animal part or source
1
Beeswax
complex carbohydrate
1
Maltodextrin

Daily Value Coverage

0
Above 100% DV
0
Below 100% DV
20
%DV not reported in source

Frequently Asked Questions

What ingredients are in MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron?
MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron contains 20 ingredients. By declared ingredient count it sits in the top 16% of DSLD products PlainVitamins places. Ingredients span 8 categories: non-nutrient/non-botanical, botanical, fat, blend, other, protein, animal part or source, complex carbohydrate.
Who manufactures MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron?
MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron is currently manufactured by Life Extension. It is classified as a Other Combinations supplement in softgel capsule form.
Is MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron still available for purchase?
Yes, MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron is currently listed as on-market in the NIH DSLD database.
What is the serving size of MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron?
The serving size is not specified.
What type of supplement is MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron?
MacuGuard Ocular Support with Saffron is classified as a "Other Combinations" supplement in the NIH database. This category includes products primarily composed of other combinations ingredients. The NIH DSLD tracks 9 supplement categories: Vitamin, Mineral, Botanical, Amino Acid & Protein, Non-Nutrient, Fat & Fatty Acid, Multi-Vitamin & Mineral, Botanical with Nutrients, and Other Combinations.
Data Sources & Methodology

Data as of 2025. Source: NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD).

Supplement label data sourced from the Source: NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), maintained by the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National Institutes of Health. The DSLD contains label information from dietary supplement products marketed in the United States.

Daily Value (DV) percentages are based on Source: FDA 21 CFR 101.9 Reference Daily Intake (RDI) values for adults. Products marked "Off Market" may no longer be available for purchase but their label data remains in the database for reference.

Disclaimer, Not Medical Advice

Label data from the Source: NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD). This information is for educational and reference purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before starting, stopping, or combining any dietary supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, take prescription medication, or have a medical condition.

Every figure on PlainVitamins is rendered directly from the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), no number is typed in by an editor. This page draws directly on the NIH DSLD, no figure is typed in by an editor. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error.